Thursday, January 20, 2011


The proposed Eastern Dispersal Link Expressway which is a dual 3-lanes carriageway will provide a direct linkage between the new Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) complexes at Tanjung Puteri and the North-South Expressway (NSE) via new Pandan Interchange.  

The proposed expressway starts with the CIQ interfacing at CH 0 where an underground tunnel constructed under Gerbang Selatan Bersepadu Project, Interchange 1, is connected to the EDL mainline expressway.   It then, proceeds to CH 350 where a three-lane 14m-viaduct structure for northbound (NB) direction a five-lane southbound (SB) direction begin.  Then, the mainline viaduct for NB and mainline at-grade for SB continue until CH 850 where a full-width 28m-viaduct for northbound and southbound starts. The mainline viaduct structure, then proceeds to Bakar Batu Interchange and ends at CH 4898 to match with the mainline at-grade expressway section. The mainline at-grade expressway section, then proceeds to Pandan Interchange and ends at the interfacing to the NSE at CH 8073. 

The Eastern Dispersal Link Expressway which runs about 8.1 km in length will consist of the following components:- 
One (1) tunnel connection at CIQ,
One (1) underpass structure at Kg. Desa Melayu,
Two (2) interchanges at Bakar Batu and Pandan,
One (1) Rest and Service Area (RSA) on each side of the expressway,
Toll Collection System (TCS) centre at Level 4 of the CIQ building,
And Traffic Surveillance and Control System (TSCS) centre at the RSA. 

The Expressway includes the proposed upgrading/reinstatement of Jalan Stulang Darat / Pasir Pelangi and several intersecting roadways, i.e. Jalan Biru, Jalan Stulang Laut, Jalan Sri Pelangi, Jalan Serampang, Jalan Sultanah Aminah, Jalan Sutera, Jalan Bakar Batu, Jalan Dewasa, Jalan Permas Jaya, Jalan Tebrau / Jalan Pandan and etc., which will be handed over back to the respective authority at the end of the construction period.

No comments:

Post a Comment